About Us

792 Canterbury Road S. Suite 211  |  Shakopee, MN

Lesley A. Chester, Executive Director, SWMetroEducational Foundation
Phone:  (952) 567-8273
Cell: (651) 955-7199


Enriching Lives through Education
The SouthWest Metro Educational Foundation (SWMEF) is a 501(3)(c) not-for-profit organization.  Founded in 2004 as the Carver-Scott Educational Foundation, the foundation changed its name on July 1, 2013 to follow the merger of the Carver-Scott Educational Cooperative and the Minnesota River Valley Special Education Cooperative into the SouthWest Metro Educational Cooperative.
We exist for the sole purpose of sustaining and advancing the unique and vital educational services and programs of SouthWest Metro Intermediate District 288. 
The SouthWest Metro Educational Foundation supports District 288, where people register for opportunity and hope, not just to receive an education. District 288 supports nearly 4,000 individuals each year to overcome barriers and achieve a quality life through education.
The SouthWest Metro Educational Foundation also serves as a conduit of generosity, making it possible for families and individuals of even modest means to realize their charitable nature in tangible ways that build community and improve the lives of their neighbors.

Board of Directors

 Executive Officers  
Gauer, Laurie | Board Chair
Chanhassen, Certified Health Coach and Office Manager | Communications Director
Gauer Chiropractic Clinic
 Weinand, John | Treasurer
City of Minnetonka

Members at Large
Cummings, Joan
Datacard Group
 Eissinger, Joyce
SouthWest Metro Intermediate District 288
Gregory, Ginger
SouthWest Metro Intermediate District 288
 Jorissen, Mary
Retired Teacher (19.5 years)
SouthWest Metro Educational Cooperative
Kermes, Darren (ex-officio)
Executive Director
SouthWest Metro Intermediate District 288
Klehr, Beth
Vice President Human Resources
Datacard Group
Former SWMetro Student)
 Simenson, Danelle
Thompson, Will
Former SWMetro Student
Timmons, Norma
Retired Teacher
 Heitkamp, Sara
Former SWMetro Student

Honorary Board Members
Urke, Brenda
Retired - R&D Director
Carver-Scott Educational Cooperative
 Tirk, Dick
 Strand, Ron  

Give Now